Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Burger patty recipe: No bread crumbs?

Burger patty recipe: No bread crumbs?

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Mon Jan 12, 2004 10:45 am
Offroader raw
raw

Dear Steven:
I'm new to grilling, but thanks to your book "How to grill", I've been able to make excellent brined pork chops, chicken breasts, grilled tomatoes and smoked potatoes.

For my next grilling, I plan to make something a little more simple: burgers.

I've seen that most people add eggs, chopped onions or bread crumbs to the patty to keep them from falling apart, but in your book you don't add any ingredients to the patty besides ground beef.

What's your advice?

Thanks in advance! :D

Post Mon Jan 12, 2004 3:36 pm
stripegrill medium
medium

Offroader Welcome to the Nuttiest Board you will ever find! When I make my patties at home I have used just a little bit of water to keep them together (say about a TBSP per pound). This is not exact but it seems to work for me.

Welcome again!

Post Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:58 pm
spfranz well done
well done

I haven't had a problem with them staying together. I always use hamburger that has at least 20% fat. After you flatten them out to the desired thickness, put a small hole (about the size of your little finger) in the middle. I believe I got that trick from one of Steve's books. It keeps the burgers from getting fat in the middle and allows them to cook more evenly.

Final point, don't press them with a spatula while cooking. I don't know why people do this. The only thing it does is squeeze all the juice out. Oh yeah, don't over cook them either.

Scott
I like vegetarians. Some of my favorite foods are vegetarians.

Post Tue Jan 13, 2004 12:57 am
dkirn well done
well done

I personally do not like any kind of "binders" in my burgers. I use either ground chuck or ground sirloin and use only meat, salt, pepper, Lea & Perkins and Mrs. Dash

Post Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:45 am