Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Question on Minion method for smoking

Question on Minion method for smoking

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:12 pm
megman6 rare
rare

I am glad to find this forum. Newbie here. I just got a Chargriller with side fire box. I read about the making of basket for minion method to prolong the heat. Here's my question, for the minion method, the idea is to have 3/4 of basket with unlid coal and then pour lit coal on top to start the smoking process. Don't they always say make sure all coals turn gray before start BBQ? Why do they want all coals to turn gray before BBQ? For minion method, this obviously not possible. Is the comment for coals to turn gray for heat purposes or health concern? If someone can clarify this confusion I have for a newbie would be great. Also, I assumed the lit coals on top will start lighting the unlit coals that come in contact with eventually and thus make the burning process longer and retains heat longer.

Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:20 pm
wiseguy User avatar
medium-well
medium-well

I used the minion method before for long smokes with no problems or difference with flavor. My guess regarding waiting for all the coal to turn grey is for grilling purposes to achieve high heat.

Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:23 pm
jmartis well done
well done

Good question.

The idea of waiting for all coals to turn gray most likely stems from people who are using lighter fluid or quick light coals. The idea is to let all the lighter fluid or quick start chemicals burn off before throwing your food on. You should be using all natural briquettes or natural lump charcoal, which does not contain quick lighting chemicals. You should also be lighting your coals in a chimney starter, NOT LIGHTER FLUID. Do you have a chimney starter you can start some coals in to dump on top of your unlit coals?