Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Minion Method in Chargriller

Minion Method in Chargriller

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:01 am

I am new to the Chargriller family and wonder if anyone could help with the best way to do the minion method in a CG.

Any thoughts?

Post Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:10 am
bstein well done
well done

You will need to put some sort of a basket in the SFB, then choke the oxygen down to a minimum. Like this it should burn fairly carefree, though I found that I had to check on mine every hour or so. CG's are great for smoking large quantities of meat, but they do require some tending.

Post Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:37 am
Married_Man medium-well
medium-well

I've had good success without the basket using both charcoal briquettes and good lump charcoal.

I fill the SFB to the level of the bottom of the opening between the grill chamber and SFB with unlit charcoal. Make sure not to block the SFB side vent. Add about 1/2 a chimney starter worth of lit charcoal to the top of the pile on the left side next to the opening between the chambers.

There are many variations on this with some hollowing out the center of the pile and adding the lit there or various other tweaks.

Ash build-up can be a problem with charcoal briquettes. I plan to test lump charcoal & no basket against charcoal briquettes with basket.

If using lump charcoal, keep in mind that lump characteristics vary greatly between brands. Of the three brands I've tried, I've had the most success with Kingsford Charwood for long smokes.