Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Smoke with a gas grill

Smoke with a gas grill

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Mon Jun 23, 2003 9:12 pm
hickory pete well done
well done

Currently I grill with a kettle type propane gas grill with a single circular burner toward the middle of the grill. I like the convenience of the gas grill, but miss the smoke flavor of the charcoal grill. Is there any way to increase the smoke while cooking with gas?

Post Tue Jun 24, 2003 6:25 am
Longmill

Sure! Soak a few hickory chips in water, beer, or other suitable liquid for 30 minutes. Wrap them in aluminum foil. Poke a few holes in the foil for the smoke to escape. Lay the pack on your lava rocks.

Longmill

Post Tue Jun 24, 2003 2:36 pm
Flyer raw
raw

HI,

I am new to the art of smoking with an electric water smoker. The manufacturer is CharBroil. Do the wood chips get placed directly on the heating element on the bottom? How do you know the amount of wood chips to use? I appreciate the help.

Flyer

Post Tue Jun 24, 2003 5:10 pm

I have a 3 burner Charbroil gas grill. I soak my chips for one hour and the grill is set up so you can set the burner box or foil pouch right atop the burner to get it smoking.

After smoking for awhile though some chips catch fire. Am I running it too hot? This occurs at around medium. Should I set it to low? Does it matter?

I've seenthe suggestion as well you can just set one or 2 chips unwrapped right on the burner plates. Is this better or wouldn't they just catch fire too?

Please advise. I'd love to try some smoking with my gas grill.

Post Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:01 pm
hickory pete well done
well done

Thanks for the reply....Sounds simple enough. I'm looking forward to giving it a try over the weekend.

Post Sat Jul 26, 2003 1:32 pm
stovetop armadillo