Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Modifying and tuning my Char-griller

Modifying and tuning my Char-griller

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:02 am
SRH_21 medium
medium

I am new to grilling and would like to get more even heat distribution from the side box of my Char-griller. I have a Char-griller Super-Pro with the fire box. I am also trying to modify the grill to retain the heat better. I have seen fire brick on the bottom, but what can I do to the lid and the sides. I have done a few searches, but have not found anything on modifying this particular grill. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Scott

Post Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:32 pm
goldenbear medium-rare
medium-rare

I have had my Chargriller for a month now and I've cooked on it a few times. I haven't done anything to modify the Chargriller and am able to maintain the temperature pretty well. I even measured the temperature at the grill level using a polder probe thermometer inserted in the hole on the side and the temperature reading I got was pretty close to the hood temperature guauge. I use regular charcoal briquettes with a little mesquite for smoke and I usually add around a handfull of fresh charcoals every 45 minutes or so.

But if others out there recommend anything to make my smoker even better than it is, I'm always willing to listen!

Post Thu Jun 24, 2004 12:36 pm
BBcue-Z well done
well done

Scott,