Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion new at grilling

new at grilling

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Sun Jun 20, 2004 9:24 am
pderico rare
rare

Howdy, my name is Phil and I am new at grilling. I have now BBQed for many years, and just bought my first gas grill yeasterday. I have a few questions that I would appreciate some input on.

1.) Is there any hard, fast, easy way to determine the doneness of steak while grilling other than cutting into it?

2.) I have boiled pork ribs prior to BBQing but now my wife wants to try to do the same with chicken. Is this a good idea, or is it better to just grill them from the get go?

3.) Any ideas on smoking with a gas grill (no smoker box)? Any good variations? Once again, is there a good way to determine doneness while smoking?

Thanks!

Post Sun Jun 20, 2004 11:16 am
shakes rare
rare

You can touch the steak to determine doneness and I wouldn't boil the chicken. I think there's another recent thread here on smoking on a gas grill.

Post Sun Jun 20, 2004 4:04 pm
DarkRubiTJ medium-well
medium-well

Welcome to the insanity, Phil.

One of the best investments you can make is an instant read thermometer. I have several ranging in price from $5 to $30.

If you are having trouble getting a chicken completely done on the grill try cooking one that is butterflied. I believe that boiling one first would take away most of the juice (flavor) and make it very difficult to keep together while cooking.

I've never tried smoking on the grill, it gets too hot to sit on :lol:
Weber "Q", Weber Performer, Weber 22.5" Bar-B-Kettle

Post Sun Jun 20, 2004 10:59 pm
ThrRoff well done
well done

pderico,

Welcome to the Board, and I am glad you are trying some grilling.