Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Hello everyone, have a couple of questions

Hello everyone, have a couple of questions

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:37 pm
Just Q It raw
raw

I just recently got a new smoker Chargriller w/SFB so I'm very new to slow cooking but through this board I'm learning some good things.

First question and I'll keep it basic, in other words I wont throw in questions about wood chunks and lump charcoal although I do use them.
I've done ribs, pulled pork and brisket and of course different foods take different amount of times to cook but how much charcoal do you use to slow cook your food, it seems like I'm going through alot, like an entire 20 lb bag or more at one setting, is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

Second question, I have a chance to get an electric smoker for free, Brinkmanns Gourmet.
Do I need to use lava rocks with this smoker or can I just wrap up some wood chips in foil and throw them at the bottom of the smoker.
Also is it possible to change this smoker from electric to charcoal if I wanted too?
If I remove the heating element than whats the difference between a charcoal smoker and electric smoker?

Well thats all the questions for now, hope they dont seem too newbie-ish more will soon to follow.
Thanks for the help.

Post Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:47 pm
Ian Mack well done
well done

Hi and welcome!
It sounds like you may have the vents on your unit "wide open", try closing the vents down, thus starving the fire of oxygen, it should drop the temps and give you a better consumption.
The Brinkmann Gourmet electric doesn't use lava rocks, instead it should come with a small pan (like a frying pan without the handle) this sits on top of the element, and you put wood chips into this.

It is easy to use a as a charcoal unit, just take the electrics out.