Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion BBQ as a business...

BBQ as a business...

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:03 pm
Big Belly rare
rare

Gang,

I am an ex Chef that went Telecom. in search of the elusive “better quality of life”. Well, I felt as if I have “been there, and done that” and now am looking to get back to what my heart is telling me to do. Food is always on my mind. Not so in that I am hungry or inspiring for my next meal. But more so hungry to fulfill my passion to live and breath food once again, on my terms-- more specifically, barbecue.

I can fill endless and endless of pages on the “who’s, what’s, where’s and how’s” of what I personally envision barbecue as business being, and what it means to me. Sparing you folks from that torture is one way of getting off on the good foot. =)

To be brief, unless prompted to elaborate more, I want to get into two facets of barbecue. I would like to cater as well as get into food vending of barbecue at local county & state fairs, carnivals and events. Falling back on my past experiences as a Chef I know that these two facets of the business, although similar in many ways, are two different animals in themselves.

On one hand, catering you have a pre-negotiated agreement set up and general rules to follow such as adding 5-7 % on top of your calculations to cover extra or big eaters. That is just to name a few. You do not have to worry about the health department unless you get someone sick etc. You have to deal with more hassles because you may be dealing with picky, flustered or frantic clientele. Gauging your potential guest as to what they will eat more of and strategically placing food in areas, as not to run out is very important. Example: place ribs toward the end of the food line (if serving a buffet) as to not have people piling up on them straight out the gate.