Board index Barbecue Board Best BBQ Joint Washington State.....Where Should I Go?

Washington State.....Where Should I Go?

What's your favorite place (aside from your backyard) to eat BBQ?
Post Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:01 am
jklancke rare
rare

I am still fairly new to the "true" BBQing process. I now know, after a friend from texas told me, using a gas grill is a cookout. She told me that until you use fire, do not refer to cooking meat outdoors as a barbecue. I need to know of a good place to go and experience what REAL BBQ tasts like. I want to compare my brisket and pork should to that of a true southern master. Until then, I can't tell how I am doing. I will drive far and wide, so please let me know where to go!

Thanks,
Jeff

Post Fri Dec 30, 2005 6:49 am
Longmill well done
well done

I'm sorry I can't answer your question because I'm so far away. However, I can disagree with your friend. :)

Many members here turn out excellent BBQ on gas fired equipment. :!: :!:

IMHO, it's the smoke, not the heat source that makes good Q. Plus, the skill of the pit master in using their equipment.

BTW, this isn't meant to open up the ages old debate over which is best. :wink: IMHO, there's too many tastes, regional preferences, personal preferences, etc. to ever reach a conclusion.

That said, :) I hope someone can recommend some good places in your area.

Longmill
CharGriller Super Pro SFB
Charcoal GOSM
Sunbeam gas grill

Post Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:24 pm
jklancke rare
rare

I agree with you in terms of the smoke makes the difference. But also the slow cooking. The longest I spent in front of the BBQ before I got the Chargriller was 15 minutes. I think she was lumping everything into one easy comment. None the less, I am glad she set me straight.

Jeff

Post Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:29 am
BBQRanger medium
medium

Hey there Jeff!

I spent some time up there at Ft. Lewis, WA. I am up here in Bellevue right now visiting my parents for the holidays.